• Home
  • Mississippi Library Leadership Institute 2014 Class

Mississippi Library Leadership Institute 2014 Class

17 Feb 2015 8:55 AM | Tina Harry (Administrator)

The Mississippi Library Commission is pleased to announce the graduation of the 2014 class of the Mississippi Library Leadership Institute. Twenty rising stars in the library profession participated in a year-long program designed to grow the next generation of library leaders in the state of Mississippi.

The Mississippi Library Leadership Institute is a transformational experience requiring participants to attend four three-day training sessions, study leadership theory between sessions, and undertake a community project. The Institute emphasizes experiences that build strong relationships with community partners and involve a very high level of intensity and risk-taking.

“Through MLLI, I was given the extraordinary opportunity to create a meaningful project for my library and my community, which I would not have pursued otherwise. In doing so, I learned about managing my first large-scale project, met dedicated and talented librarians from around the state, and tested my potential as a leader. For these things I am so very grateful.” – Hilary Richardson, Mississippi State University

2014 Mississippi Library Leadership Institute class:

  • Ashley Biggs, Central Mississippi Regional Library System, Flowood, Miss.
  • JoAnn Blue, Carnegie Public Library of Clarksdale & Coahoma County, Clarksdale, Miss.
  • Jamie Elston, Jackson-George Regional Library System, Moss Point, Miss.
  • Antoinette Giamalva, Delta State University, Cleveland, Miss.
  • Crystal Giles, Northwest Mississippi Community College, Senatobia, Miss.
  • Joshua Haidet, East Mississippi Regional Library, Quitman, Miss.
  • Shivon Rockward Hess, Mississippi Library Commission, Jackson, Miss.
  • Lisa Justis, East Mississippi Community College, Mayhew, Miss.
  • Sarah Mangrum, University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg, Miss.
  • Erica McCaleb, Mississippi Library Commission, Jackson, Miss.
  • Lindsey Miller, Columbus Lowndes County Library System, Columbus, Miss.
  • Darlene Morgan, Pike-Amite Walthall Library System, McComb, Miss.
  • Jennifer Parker, Magee High School, Magee, Miss.
  • Jesse Pool, First Regional Library System, Horn Lake, Miss.
  • Hillary Richardson, Mississippi State University, Starkville, Miss.
  • Elizabeth Simmons, Puckett Attendance Center, Puckett, Miss.
  • Violene Williams, Coahoma Community College, Clarksdale, Miss.
  • Jamie Wilson, Millsaps College, Jackson, Miss.
  • Callie Wiygul, The Library of Hattiesburg, Petal, & Forrest County, Hattiesburg, Miss.
  • Abbie Woolridge, Meridian Lauderdale County Public Library, Meridian, Miss.

The Mississippi Library Leadership Institute was made possible in part by a Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian Program grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Mississippi Library Commission. For more information about the Institute, visit mlc.lib.ms.us/ ServicesToLibraries/mlli.html

Mississippi Library Leadership Institute class

Photograph by Joy Garretson

Submitted by

Lacy Ellinwood

Public Library Consultant

Mississippi Library Commission



MLA's mission is to provide professional leadership for the development, promotion, and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship in order to enhance learning and ensure access to information for all.

Office Hours:
Tuesday: 11:00am-5:00pm

Wednesday: 1:00pm-5:00pm

Thursday: 11:00am-5:00pm

PO Box 13687, Jackson MS 39236-3687 

Phone: 601-981-4586


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software