Outstanding Achievement Award

Sponsored by the Mississippi Library Association

The Outstanding Achievement Award recognizes one of the following:

1. A librarian for contributions in one or more of the following areas:
  • Library promotion resulting in permanent library service improvement
  • Contributions to professional literature
  • Outstanding service in one individual library unit
2. A library trustee who has planned and executed a program of library promotion that resulted in permanent library improvement in the development of public libraries.

3. Any citizen who has been instrumental in bettering public knowledge and understanding of library and professional resources, needs, and uses.


Click Here for the 2023 Nomination Form

Nominations should be submitted by September 8.


2023 - No award given

2022 - Ellen Ruffin

2021 - Mary Beth Applin – Hinds Community College, Dean of Libraries

2020 - Jamie Stanfield & Kevin Walker, Gulf Coast Library, University of Southern Mississippi

2019 - Mac Buntin, Mississippi Library Commission

2018 - Sharman Bridges Smith

2017 - Vivian Sanderford, Mississippi Library Commission

2016 – Jeff Slagell – Roberts-LaForge Library, Delta State University ; Marsha Case – Posthumously, Retired from Jackson-Hinds Library System

– Jacob Starks, Neshoba County Library

2013 – Joshua Prochaska, Senatobia

2012 – Pamela Pridgen, Director, The Library of Hattiesburg, Petal and Forrest County

2011 – No nominations, no award given

2010 – Jolee Hussey, First Regional Library Board of Trustees

2009 – No nominations, no award given

2008 – Glenda Tilson

2007 – Sherry Mooers

2006 – Dorothy Fitts

2004 – Glenda Segars

2003 – Frances N. Coleman

2002 – Rachel Hudson Smith

2001 – Beverly Herring

2000 – Prima Plauche

1999 – Deborah Mitchell

1998 – Onva Boshears

1997 – Josie Roberts

1996 – Julia Holmes

1995 – Ann Parkman



MLA's mission is to provide professional leadership for the development, promotion, and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship in order to enhance learning and ensure access to information for all.

Office Hours:
Tuesday: 11:00am-5:00pm

Wednesday: 1:00pm-5:00pm

Thursday: 11:00am-5:00pm

PO Box 13687, Jackson MS 39236-3687 

Phone: 601-981-4586


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software