Mississippi Library Champion Award

The Mississippi Library Association recognizes individuals, businesses and organizations that contribute tremendously to outstanding library service in our communities. The Mississippi Library Association is seeking nominations for the annual Library Champion Award. These awards recognize individuals (not employed by a Mississippi Library, the School of Library and Information Science at the University of Southern Mississippi, or the Mississippi Library Commission), businesses, and community organizations for their substantial involvement with Mississippi’s libraries or who have contributed time, talent or resources that resulted in the enhancement, improvement, or recognition of library service in the State of Mississippi. Library champions work tirelessly in promoting significant advocacy for all types of libraries and/or the library profession throughout the state. The MLA Library Champion award began in 2011 in response to outstanding advocacy in support of maintaining state funding for libraries by Representative Cecil Brown and Representative Billy McCoy, who were the first recipients. The recipient of the 2012 Library Champion Award was Randy Sherard, Attorney and tireless supporter of MLA and the Warren County-Vicksburg Public Library.

The deadline for nominations is July 1. Recipients will be honored at the Mississippi Library Association Annual Conference Awards Luncheon held every year on Friday, the last day of the annual MLA Conference.

Anyone may submit a nomination for Library Champion. Previous recipients are eligible for nomination. Nominations must be received by July 1 of each year, to be considered for that year’s award cycle. To nominate a recipient, please fill out the attached nomination form and e-mail it to info@misslib.org or mail it to the Mississippi Library Association, P. O. Box 13687, Jackson, MS 39236-3687


Click Here for the 2023 Nomination Form

Nominations should be submitted by September 8.


2023 - No award given.

2022 - Richard Walley

2021 -

2020 -Shaninun Pittman, Pass Christian Books and Scott Nagle, Cat Island Coffeehouse

2019 - Joanne Anderson, Trustee, Jackson-George Regional Library System

2018 - Excel by 5 - Hancock County, Hancock County Library System; Rebecca Lewis, Bolivar County Library System

2017 - GFWC-MFWC Fine Arts Club of Bruce, Jesse Yancy Memorial Library; Mayor Richard Johnson, Waynesboro-Wayne County Library System

2016 - Compass Studios for their work with the G. Chastaine Flynt Memorial Library (CMRLS); Sue Berry for her work with the Jackson-Hinds Library System

2015 - Ed Ward, M.R. Davis Public Library Volunteer, First Regional Library System

2014 - No award given.

2013 – Chevron Products Company, Pascagoula Refinery

2012 – Attorney Randy Sherard

2011 – Representative Cecil Brown and Representative Billy McCoy



MLA's mission is to provide professional leadership for the development, promotion, and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship in order to enhance learning and ensure access to information for all.

Office Hours:
Tuesday: 11:00am-5:00pm

Wednesday: 1:00pm-5:00pm

Thursday: 11:00am-5:00pm

PO Box 13687, Jackson MS 39236-3687 

Phone: 601-981-4586


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software