Mary Julia Anderson Award

Sponsored by the Mississippi Library Association

The Mary Julia Anderson Award recognizes a paraprofessional member of MLA for contributions in one or more of the following areas:
  • Planning and promoting library programming or services;
  • Increasing public knowledge and understanding of library and professional resources, needs, and uses;
  • Promoting the development and recognition of the paraprofessional as an important and vital member of the library workforce;
  • Encouraging discussion, activities and programs which support the Mississippi Library Association and its members;
  • Acting as a stimulus to make Mississippi Library Association more responsive to paraprofessional concerns; and
  • Supporting and maintaining a cooperative relationship among paraprofessionals and other library staff.


2023 Nominations are closed.


2023 - Paula Bass, MLA Administrator

2022 - Linda Willis

2021 -

2020 - Lisa Ramage, Mid-Mississippi Regional Library System

2019 - Janessa Ullendorf, University of Southern Mississippi Gulf Coast

2018 - Selena Swink, Central Mississippi Regional Library System

2017 - Stephanie Brown, First Regional Library System

2016 - Susan Agnelly, Jackson-George Regional Library System

2015 -
Martha Lawson, Rosedale & Gunnison Public Libraries, Bolivar County Library System

2014 - No award given.

– Mona Swayze, South Mississippi Regional Library

2012 – Nettie Moore, M. R. Davis Public Library, Southaven First Regional Library System

2011 – Linda Kern, Assistant Director, Bolivar County Library System

2010 – Tamara Jones, Central Mississippi Regional Library System

2009 – Lorietha Myers, Development Bureau Administrative Assistant, Mississippi Library Commission

2008 – Linda McKay

2007 – David Brown

2006 – Mary Julia Anderson



MLA's mission is to provide professional leadership for the development, promotion, and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship in order to enhance learning and ensure access to information for all.

Office Hours:
Tuesday: 11:00am-5:00pm

Wednesday: 1:00pm-5:00pm

Thursday: 11:00am-5:00pm

PO Box 13687, Jackson MS 39236-3687 

Phone: 601-981-4586


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software